previous arrow
next arrow

Gibraltar is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom. In 1704, it was conquered by an English-Dutch army, after which it was handed over to the British in 1713. To this day, Gibraltar remains a point of political conflict. Spain still claims Gibraltar is part of it, but the inhabitants of Gibraltar made clear they do not want to be part of Spain.